Australian Power Quality & Reliability Centre

Established 1996

APQRC People

Download an APQRC brochureSign-Up for APQRC News

Management Advisory Committee

Academic & Research Staff

Honorary & Visiting Staff

Administrative Staff

Former Staff members

Research Students


Lasantha Meegahapola Photo

Dr Lasantha Meegahapola

Honorary Senior Fellow

Tel: +61 3 9925 2092



Dr. Lasantha Meegahapola received his BSc. Eng. degree in Electrical Engineering (First Class) from the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka in 2006, and his PhD degree from Queen's University of Belfast, UK in 2010. His doctoral study was based on the investigation of power system stability issues with high wind penetration, and research was conducted in collaboration with EirGrid (Republic of Ireland-TSO). In addition, he conducted extensive research studies on coordinated reactive power dispatch during steady-state and dynamic/transient conditions for networks with high wind penetration. He also holds a professional qualification in management accounting from the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants UK (CIMA passed finalist). He was a visiting researcher in the Electricity Research Centre, University College Dublin, Ireland (2009/2010). From 2011-2014 he was employed as a lecturer at the University of Wollongong (UOW) and continues as an honorary fellow at UOW. He is currently employed as a lecturer at RMIT. He is a member of IEEE and IEEE Power Engineering Society (PES).

Research Interests

  • Renewable power generation
  • Power system stability
  • Active distribution networks and reactive power control
  • Intelligent approaches in power systems
Last modified: 2 February 2022 Webmaster
Copyright © 2001-2022. University of Wollongong.